top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlisa Klinger

Fighting The Urge To Quit On Your Writing

Writing Tip#1


Post it and go!


We all hear - Keep moving forward. But how.?!


When you’re writing a chapter and having trouble writing the dialogue or the scene or description, use a post it and write go back to. Then move on.


Writing Tip # 2 The Go Back To List


Or in a prior post I introduced technique Post it and go

In writing tip #1 I introduced the technique called Post it and Go. A variation of this is Go Back To List ! When I’m writing, I keep a list (it can be a pad or in the notes app on your computer) of all sorts of thoughts, editing notes, ideas that come up, passages I need to go back to, passages I may want to change. Basically anything that I can’t currently address but will need to work on later.

This may sound like Post it and Go that’s because they’re similar however, Go Back to List is more comprehensive. Everything is in one location.


This list is very useful.

It blocks your writer’s block.


First, it keeps you moving forward. You don’t get off track. Too many times writers go off to fix something they’ve previously written, getting lost going back and not moving forward. Secondly, when you hit a brick wall and need inspiration, go to this list. 9 out of 10 times it will spark your desire to write. Thirdly, it’s a great way to keep tabs on your thoughts and where you need to tighten your story as well as keep your mind focused and in the writing moment.


Writing Tip #3 Find a Word

Building on tip #2, Go Back To List is another technique to block writer’s block. I call it Find a Word.


When I was writing there were times when I’d spent the entire time trying to find the perfect word. This was a huge time waster. Time I could have been writing and getting closer to finishing my novel.


That’s when I came up with Find a word. Here’s what I did.

Anytime I couldn’t find the perfect word, I physically typed the words Find a word in the unknown word’s place. Later, when I came up with the right word, I went to the computer, typed “Find a word” in the document search, then replaced “Find a word” with my perfect word.


No more wasting good writing time! Now I simply type in “find a word” every time I can’t think of the perfect word and move on. I stay in the writing moment. I keep moving forward.


For those who don’t use a computer, I suggest using a red pen and draw a line in place of the word.


Use this technique to keep your writing moving forward. Before you know it , you’ll be finished writing your novel.

Writing Tip # 4.


The Write Places


Yes, set up a writing routine but also break the routine. Writers have a routine to keep them on track and moving forward with their writing. Most days this works however, on days when your writer’s block hits, I suggest you change it up !!


What’s the best place to write?

Any place that allows you the confidence and comfort to write. It doesn’t always have to be at a desk. It doesn’t always have to be the same place. I have several locations I go to depending on my mood. They include the Starbucks, the library, out in the park and at my desk.


The key to finding the best places to write is to try a spot out and see how much writing you get done.


Here are some suggestions of writing spots:


In your backyard

On your front porch

The bookstore

The local library

The coffee shop

The park

Local universities

Beach,lake,bay

Museum

Mall

Botanical Garden

Some places you may not have thought of:


In an Uber

On a train

On a plane

On a boat


Changing up writing spots can also help with writers block.


Writing Tip#5


What’s the Big Idea?!


All stories are driven by a big 💡. It comes into our mind and we know we have to tell this story.

.

For me it was an event that happened when I was a young mom living in a Long Island community. Someone died and we never knew what happened. My mind raced with all kinds of scenerios. The seed for my story had sprung!

.

The fun was about to begin. I started thinking up characters that would move the story along. These characters became my friends. As they developed, so too did the story. When you think of quitting, think back on the big idea that got you started.




4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page